Computer Science

The department of Computer Science, Gauhati University was established in the year 1985 with an objective to produce Computer Science and IT professionals for software industries, research & educational institutions and other organizations in India and abroad, so as to enhance employment and association of the new generation in these fields and related areas.

The department started with Prof Malay AnandaDutta who is the founder teacher of the department. The department started a one-year Post Graduate Diploma Course in Computer Science and Applications with thirty seats in 1986 at time in which there were only a few institutions in the entire country offering post graduate courses in Computer Science. The objectives of the course were to produce Computer Programmers, Research Scholars, Teachers, Instructors, Computer Professionals. The course continued till 2000.

In January 2001 the department has started a two-year MSc course in Computer Science, replacing the PGDCSA course, with a student intake 15 per batch.

In 2005 the Department started another course - MSc in Information Technology together with the existing MSc programme in Computer Science.

Courses Offered

Click on the image

Department of Computer Science
Gauhati University, Guwahati 781014, Assam
Phone : +91-98641-67741
Email :
Web   :

Associate Professor

Abhijit Sarma Head of the Department
MCA (Dibrugarh) PhD (IITG)
Computer Networks


Anjana Kakoti Mahanta
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Algorithms, Data mining

Assistant Professor

Dwipen Laskar
MTech (Tezpur)

Assistant Professor

Irani Hazarika
MSc (Gauhati)
Data Mining

Assistant Professor

Sanjib Kumar Kalita
MCA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Speech Processing