The Department of Mathematics was established in 1948 and started functioning from Cotton College premises. The department was shifted to its present site at GopinathBordoloi Nagar, Jalukbari, Guwahati-781014, in the year 1955-56. Prof. V.D. Thawani who was a wrangler of Cambridge University was invited to Head and build up the newly founded prost graduate department of Mathematics and Statistics. In those pioneering days the two departments sometimes had to manage with just three teachers each. The statistics department was bifurcated from Mathematics Department in mid fifties and shifted temporarily to the Physics building in mid sixties and finally accommodated at its present separate building.

Due to relentless efforts and dedication on the part of a galaxy of teachers of the Department like Prof. V.D. Thawani, Prof. Huzurbazar, Prof. Jyoti Prasad Medhi, Prof. Siben Barua, Prof. A.K. Palit, Prof. E.R. Suryanarayan, Prof. S.C. Nag, Prof. B.C. Deka, Prof. M.K. Mahanta, Prof. Prabhu, Prof. A. Bezbarua, Prof. K. R. Singh, the department grew into a centre of excellence for teaching and research in Mathematics.

We also remember some teachers of the department who served the department for a short period or passed away during their service. They are Professor A.C. Das, Prof. G.C. Sarma, L.N. Tluanga, Late Sarat Ch. Kalita and late Bhaben Ch. Mena.

In the initial stages up to mid sixties the research activities of the department were not quite significant. During that period stress was given on upgrading the syllabus and procurement of books for the Central Library (at present named K.K. Handique Library) relevant to the subject.

The department gained momentum in research activities under the headship of Prof. B.K. Tamuli, Prof. K. R. Singh and Prof. B. P. Chetiya. Various activities of the department including research has been pursued vigorously during the headship of the persons following them.


The faculty at the Department of Mathematics, Gauhati University are currently involved in the following areas of research:

  • Algebra (Rings, Modules, and associated concepts)
  • Functional Analysis
  • Mathematical Analysis
  • Number Theory (Arithmetic Functions, Class number problems)
  • Algebraic Coding theory
  • Fuzzy Mathematics
  • Graph Theory
  • Relativity & Cosmology
  • Plasma
  • Dynamical Systems
  • Fluid Dynamics
  • Computational Fluid Dynamics
  • Magneto Hydrodynamics
  • Bio-Mathematics
  • Mathematics Education

Courses Offered

Click on the image

Department of Mathematics
Gauhati University, Guwahati 781014, Assam
Phone : +91-94351-45513
Email :
Web   :

Associate Professor

Chandra Rekha Mahanta
MSc (Delhi) PhD (Gauhati)

Assistant Professor

Debasish Bhattacharjee
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Dynamical Systems


Helen K Saikia
MSc (NEHU) PhD (Gauhati) MPhil (Gauhati)
Number Theory, Algebra, Fuzzy Algebra


Hemanta Kumar Sarmah
MSc (Delhi) PhD (Gauhati)
Dynamical System, Mathematics Education

Assistant Professor

Hemen Dutta
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati) PGDCA (Gauhati)
Functional Analysis, Mathematical Logic


Kanika Das
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Relativity, Mathematics Education


Kuntala Patra
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Algebra, Algebraic Topology, Graph Theory, Mathematics Education


Nazibuddin Ahmed
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Fluid Dynamics, Magnetohydrodynamics

Assistant Professor

Nilakshi Goswami
MSc (IIT Delhi) PhD (Gauhati) Diploma in Comp Sci (IIT Delhi)
Functional Analysis, Fuzzy Mathematics


Rita Choudhury
MSc (Dibrugarh) PhD (Dibrugarh)
Fluid Dynamics, Bio-Mathematics, Non-Newtonian Fluid Flow Mechanics, Mathematics Education


Rudra Kanta Deka Head of the Department
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati), DSC (Gauhati)
Computational Fluid Dynamics