Geological Sciences

 The Department of Geological Sciences (erstwhile Geology Department) was established in 1950 initially with undergraduate course and subsequently upgraded to a post graduate department in 1956. It was the first department of geology to be set up in the Northeastern region of India which has played a vital role in human resource development catering to the need of various geoscientific organizations in the country and abroad. It was rechristened as the “Department of Geological Sciences” in 1986 keeping in mind the wider perspective of the subject. The department provides a vibrant academic ambience with emphasis on interactive teaching, continuous evaluation and various student enrichment programmes including regular thematic lectures and periodic workshops etc. The syllabus is periodically revised to incorporate recent development in geology and keeping in mind the needs and demands in different fields. After completion of the course, the students get absorbed in various organizations through competitive examinations and occasional campus recruitment.

The department spreads over a large floor area, with modest laboratory and classroom facility apart from a well stocked Geological Museum and Departmental Library. In addition to in-house grants from the university, grants have also been received under:

                                   (i) COSIST programme of the UGC (1984) 

                                  (ii) FIST programme of the DST (2003-2008)

                                 (iii)  FIST programme of the DST (2016-2021) and, 

                                  (iv) RUSA programme of the UGC(2016-17)

These infrastructural development programmes have helped the Department to develop and maintain the infrastructural facilities. Significant grants under research projects have also been received from various organizations in recent past. The Department has also signed an MoU with the Oil India Ltd. (OIL) in 2017 to collaborate in research under the 'Industry-Academia' initiative of the OIL.


Course name




Post Graduate

M.Sc. in Geology


Four Semesters, 120 credit, CBCS



Ph. D.





Courses Offered

Click on the image


Principal Investigator

Title of the Project

Funding Agency


Fund in Rupees

Sarat Phukan

Study of hydrocarbon potential, depositional environment and geological mapping of the Disang-Barail transitional sequence in Assam, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh

Oil India Ltd.

2 years


39.83 lakhs

Bikash Gogoi

Integrated palynofacies and magnetostratigraphic study of Bhuban Formation in some selected outcrops exposed in the central part of Mizoram, NE India

Oil India Ltd.

2 years


39.64 lakhs

Pranjit Hazarika

Determination of elemental and isotopic compositions of tourmaline from Pb-Zn and Cu-Au deposits of Northwestern India: implications for compositional fractionation, ore genetic processes and source of ore forming fluid.


5 years


35 lakhs

A. C. Mazumdar

Tectonothermal evolution and EPMA geochronology of granulite facies rocks from the Gneissic Complex of Shilong Plateau, India


3 years


14.97 lakhs


The department has the following lab facilities besides the rock thin section preparation facility,

Geological Museum and the Departmental Library:

·       Microscope Lab

·       Geoinformatics Lab

·       Sedimentology Lab

·       Coal and Organic Petrology Lab

·       Engineering Geology Lab

·       Petrology Lab

 The department has a career counseling, training and placement cell coordinated by a faculty member. Although not mandatory, students are encouraged to undergo summer/winter training in different organizations for which the training and placement cell take the initiative. Thematic and career-oriented classes are organized by this cell on a regular basis. Oil India Ltd., the premier hydrocarbon industry, intermittently conducts Campus Recruitment for the post of geologist through a process of shortlisting and viva-voce. During the period 2011-16, nineteen candidates cleared NET (JRF/LS)/ GATE, twelve students joined various organizations in the core sectors while five others joined civil and banking services.


M.Sc. in Geology

B. Sc. with Geology (Major/Honours) and preferably having a combination of mathematics/ physics/ chemistry/ statistics. 50% of the seats are earmarked for students from Gauhati University and 50% to be filled up from other university candidates through entrance test of 100marks. The entrance test is MCQ type aimed at assessing the students’ general understanding of the core branches of geology at UG level.


Ph. D.

Through Gauhati University Research Eligibility Test (GU-RET),CSIR/UGC-JRF (as per GU Ph. D. Regulations, 2016: A compulsory one semester course work is conducted preceding registration.

Department of Geological Sciences
Gauhati University, Guwahati 781014, Assam
Phone : +91-361-2570220
Email :
Web   :


Amulya Chandra Mazumdar
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (IIT Kanpur)
Metamorphic Petrology, Geochemistry
Bhagawat Pran Duarah
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Sedimentology, Remote Sensing, Tectonics
Parag Phukon
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Sarat Phukan Head of the Department
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Coal Geology, Geoinformatics

Associate Professor

Balen Bhagabaty
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Bikash Gogoi
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Dibrugarh)
Jayanta Jivan Laskar
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Sedimentology, Engineering Geology

Assistant Professor

Pranjit Hazarika
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (IIT Kharagpur)
Ore Genesis, Geochemistry and Petrology
Runti Choudhury
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (IIT Guwahati)
Surajit Misra
MSc (Calcutta) MTech (IIT Kharagpur) PhD (IIT Kharagpur)
Structural Geology and Tectonics, Microstructures and Microtectonics

Visiting Professor

Abhijit Bhattacharya [ Alexander von Humboldt Fellow, FNA ]
MTech (IIT Kharagpur) PhD (IIT Kharagpur)
Metamorphic Petrology, Geochemistry, Geochronology

Associated Faculty

Dhirendra Nath Das
MTech (Harisingh Gour University, Sagar) PhD (Gauhati)
Petroleum Geology