Geological Sciences

The Department of Geological Sciences was established in 1950 with undergraduate teaching, and subsequently the post graduate and Ph.D. programs have started since 1956. The department has good laboratories for teaching and research. It has a well developed Remote Sensing and GIS laboratory, sophisticated petrological microscope laboratory and central computer facility for students. The department received fund under COSIST and FIST programme of UGC and DST respectively and Government of Assam Special Assistance for infrastructure development.

The department receives funds from several other government and non-governmental organizations for research and consultancy works viz. Department of Space, Atomic Mineral Directorate, Oil India Ltd, NHPC Ltd, SJVNL, Erinco, Soma, Naftogaz, Asian Development Bank etc.

Courses Offered

Click on the image

Department of Geological Sciences
Gauhati University, Guwahati 781014, Assam
Phone : +91-361-2570220
Email : geology@gauhati.ac.in
Web   : gauhati.ac.in/science/geological-sciences

Professor

Amulya Chandra Mazumdar
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (IIT Kanpur)
Metamorphic Petrology, Geochemistry
acmazumdar@gauhati.ac.in

Assistant Professor

Balen Bhagabaty
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Geochemistry
b_bhagabaty@gauhati.ac.in

Professor

Bhagawat Pran Duarah
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Sedimentology, Remote Sensing, Tectonics
bpduarah@gauhati.ac.in

Associate Professor

Bikash Gogoi
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Dibrugarh)
Palaeontology
bikash.gogoi@gauhati.ac.in

Professor

Dhirendra Nath Das
MTech (Harisingh Gour University, Sagar) PhD (Gauhati)
Petroleum Geology
d_ndas@gauhati.ac.in

Assistant Professor

Jayanta Jivan Laskar
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Sedimentology, Engineering Geology
jlaskar@gauhati.ac.in

Professor

Parag Phukon Head of the Department
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Geomorphology
pp016@gauhati.ac.in

Assistant Professor

Pranjit Hazarika
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (IIT Kharagpur)
Ore Geology, Geochemistry and Petrology
hazarika.pranjit@gauhati.ac.in

Associate Professor

Sarat Phukan
MSc (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Coal Geology, Geoinformatics
saratphukan@gauhati.ac.in