The Department of Law established in the year 1976 is the premier centre for advanced legal studies and research in North-east India. It has contributed significantly to the growth of legal education in the region and beyond. It provides quality legal education leading to LL.M. degree, duration of four semesters under credit and grading system. It facilitates research on issues of contemporary relevance leading to Ph. D.

Our Vision


Developing human capital which will assist the Nation in safeguarding its integrity, ensuring justice and freedom to its citizens and assisting in its progress and prosperity by laying the foundation for a strong legal framework as per the ideal and aspirations enshrined in the Constitution.


Our Mission

WE impart

a.   Quality legal education at the LL.M. level

b.  Full-fledged research experience at the PhD level

c.Critical Legal Thought and socially relevant dissemination of knowledge of law(s)

d. Overall growth of the pupils with special emphasis on upholding core societal values with the help of law(s)

e.Joining hands with other academic disciplines for collaborative research and legal studies for building a Nation based on four vital components- freedom, justice, peace and common brotherhood

 A Brief History

Prior to 1976, there was no institution in the North East India imparting higher legal education in Law at the LL.M. level. The need of an institution for higher education in Law was felt by the people of this part of the country for a long time. The Faculty of Law took resolutions to open LL.M.  as early as in 1969, but it did not materialize for want of teachers capable of teaching at the  Post Graduate level.  During the National Emergency, a decision was taken by the University to hand over the then existing Law College to the Government of Assam and to introduce a course at the Post Graduate level in its campus itself leading to the Degree of LL.M.

Initially, there were only four teachers- Late Professor(Dr.) N. Sanajaoba, Late Dr. H.N. Kalita, Dr. A Hussain and Sri A.C. Deka- who were all LL.M. Degree holders from other Universities and they took classes in the afternoon. Justice K.N. Saikia joined the first four legal luminaries and taught LL.M. students for a couple of years.  

Courses Offered

Click on the image




Department of Law
Gauhati University, Guwahati 781014, Assam
Phone : +91-361-2700420
Email :
Web   :


Ramesh Chandra Borpatragohain
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Constitutional and Administrative Law
Stuti Deka
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Constitutional and Administrative Law
Subhram Rajkhowa Head of the Department
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Constitutional Law and Administrative Law

Assistant Professor

Aparajita Baruah
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Constitutional Law and Administrative Law
Dipankar Das
MA (Gauhati) LLM (Gauhati)
Constitutional and Adminsitrative Law
Pallavi Devi
LLM (Gauhati)
Constitutional and Administrative Law
Rupali Debbarma
MA (Delhi)
Criminal Law and Human Rights
Tarani Pathak
MSc (Gauhati) LLM (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Criminal Law