The Department of Economics is one of the eight departments of Gauhati University which was established in 1948. Initially, classes were held in the Earle Law College at Panbazar. The Department shifted to the Arts Block in Jalukbari in 1952 and subsequently shifted to the New Academic Building in January 2013. Initially teaching was started in the Department with an intake of less than 50 students in the Post Graduate classes. The intake had to be raised up to 108 in response to growing demand for post graduate education in Economics in the state and the region. However, the intake had to be pegged back at 65 in 2001 as the Department adopted the semester system for its M.A./M.Sc. programmes.

The department had enrolled 75 students during the current session following the decision by the administration to increase the number of seats. In view of the growing demand for post graduate learning in Economics, the University offers the option of MA in Economics under its distance education programme in IDOL.

Initially, The Department started functioning with only five teachers. Those included stalwarts like Dr. P.C. Thomas (Head of the Department), Professor S. Sarangapani, Shri K. Krishnamurty and Dr. V. Venkata Rao (who later joined the bifurcated Political Science Department). Professor Mehrotra of Commerce Department reinforced the department as a part time teacher. Subsequently, Dr. U.N. Bordoloi, Shri Dhirendra Nath Sarma, Shri Jyotish Gogoi, Dr. K. Alam, Dr. Atul Goswami, Dr. B. P. Misra etc joined the Department. Right from the beginning the teachers of the Department were associated with various assignments. Professor P.C. Thomas served as educational advisor of UNESCO in Nepal for a year, as did Professor Sarangapani who went abroad on an UN assignment for a year. Teachers of the Department have also extended their services to the Government in various capacities in the State Planning Board, State Finance Commissions, State Level Advisory Committee of 20-Point Programme, High Level Committee for Farming, Formulation of Long Term Plan for Assam's Economic Development, Committee to Enquire Into The Economic Significance of The First Brahmaputra Bridge, different Pay Commissions, Gauhati Municipal Corporation, State Level Advisory Committee on Small Savings, Power Boards etc. The Department was also involved in the preparation of the Assam Human Development Report, 2003. In recent years the department had conducted studies for the Thirteenth Finance Commission and Fourteenth Finance Commission and also for the Planning Commission.

Courses Offered

Click on the image

Alumni Meet of the Department of Economics, Gauhati University The Alumni Association of the Department of Economics, Gauhati University had its first meet on the 30th September, 2016 with a day long programme.
    In the first half of the programme, a workshop on ‘Writing A Research Paper’ was held. In the workshop, Dr. M.P. Bezbaruah , senior Professor and former Head of the Department, delivered a lecture on the topic. The workshop participants were the fresh alumni and research scholars of the department. The workshop ended after an open discussion where other faculty members of the department also took part.
    The second half of the programme started with a formal meeting with the alumni present. The alumni represented different batches of Post Graduates of this department since the early seventies. A new Executive Body was formed with Prof. Nissar A Barua, Head of the Department of Economics, GU as the ex-officio President, Prof. Archana Sharma as the Secretary, Sri Haramohan Barman, former Principal Secretary (Income Tax) and Sri Jagdish Goswami former Professor and Head, Department of Economics, B.Borooah College, Guwahati as Vice Presidents. Among others the Executive Body included Dr. Dipti Khound, former Professor and Head, Department of Economics, Arya Vidyapeeth College, Dr. Sanjoy Talukdar, former Principal, Barbhag College.
    After the meeting, there was a cultural function conducted by ‘Manthan’ a Performing Art and Literary Club of the students of the Department of Economics, Gauhati University.
    The alumni expressed their happiness for getting the opportunity of coming back to their alma mater and made some valuable suggestions regarding the future course of action of the Alumni Association. Preparation of a directory of the Alumni has been given priority.
    The Department of Economics, Gauhati University was established in 1948 as one of the founding departments of the University. As such , it was felt that the preparation of a Directory will be a gargantuan task without the help and cooperation of the alumni themselves. The Alumni Association therefore, requested all alumni of the department to contact them at the email id or in the face book group ‘Alumni GU Eco’. The alumni were also informed about the forthcoming events of the department, viz., the 18th Conference of the North Eastern Economic Association to be held in December 2016 and the Annual Ecofest where the support of the alumni is highly solicited.

Assam Economic Review
Assam Economic Review published annually in January/February by the Department of Economics, Gauhati University (ISSN 2319-6254). The aim of the journal is to provide a forum for discussion and exchange of ideas and findings of research on any branch of economics. Papers dealing with (i) latest advances in research and methods of analysis and/or (ii) analysing primary data to substantiate/debate existing theories and policies in the context of Economy of Northeast India and/or (iii) attempting to test new hypothesis to illustrate actual economic phenomenon in an operational economy will be given preference.

For details, please visit the webpage of Assam Economic Review (AER)

Download SAP (2011-16) Report

Download (2.2 MB)  

  • Kandarpa Kumar Barman (Retired Professor)
    MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati) Macroeconomics, Rural Development, Money, Banking, and Financial Institutions

  • Khorshed Alam (Retired Professor)
    MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)

Department of Economics
Gauhati University, Guwahati 781014, Assam
Phone : +91-9864167741
Email :
Web   :

Assistant Professor

Amiya Sarma
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
International Economics, Econometrics

Assistant Professor

Anshuman Barua
MA (Gauhati) MPhil (JNU)
Development Economics, Financial Economics, Demography


Archana Sharma
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Monetary Economics, Macro Economics, Development Economics, Environmental Economics

Associate Professor

Gayatri Goswami
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Mathematical Economics, Operation Research


Madhurjya Prasad Bezbaruah [Dean, Faculty of Fine Arts and Director, GUINEIS]
MA (Delhi) PhD (Gauhati)
Microeconomics, Econometrics, Environmental Economics, Agricultural Economics


Nissar A Barua
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Public Finance, Development Economics, Financial Economics

Assistant Professor

Nivedita Goswami
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati) MPhil (IGIDR)
Public Finance

Assistant Professor

Ratul Mahanta
MA (Gauhati) PhD (IITG)
Mathematical Economics, Environmental Economics


Runumi Dowerah Baruah
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
Demography, Statistical Method for Economic Analysis


Sakiya Khan Head of the Department
MA (Gauhati) PhD (Gauhati)
International Economics